Meet the new Sheriff in Town!

July 11, 2014 at 1:22 pm (Uncategorized)

Hi Everyone,

I know that you are all waiting for more of the Blood Bond series and I am working hard on the next book.  I hope to get it to you as soon as possible.  But to tide you over, I’m going to introduce you to the new Sheriff in town.

Enjoy!

Shauna Hart

****

“Need some help?”

Alec’s head snapped around to focus on the voice that came from the shadows of the alley.   “Get the hell out of here,” he commanded.

Slowly, the man walked into the light, his black hair catching the dim light of the street lamp overhead.  “Can’t do that.”

Alec’s grip on the tracker’s neck tightened as he watched the other man come closer.    Sizing the man up, he mentally prepared for a fight.  The guy had a few inches on him, but it wasn’t anything he hadn’t face before.  His thick arms were crossed over a broad chest that would make an easy target.   If Alec had to, he would take this guy out too if he didn’t walk away.

“This doesn’t concern you,” Alec snapped.

“I’m afraid that is where you’re wrong.  I’m Vincenzo Delucia, the Vindicate you sent for,” the man explained.  “But everyone calls me Vin.”

Alec straightened.  He’d heard the name before.  Vincenzo “Vin” Delucia had a reputation for being one of the most vicious Vindicates.  But he wasn’t just chosen for his skill with a blade.

“I didn’t send for you.”

Alec was no fool.  Tarquin sent Vin here to watch Alec.  Watch and take care of him if the need ever arose.  The fact that Alec’s own maker would send in a Vindicate to potentially kill him was a scar that would never heal right.

Still, he couldn’t exactly blame the man.  Kat was Tarquin’s daughter and that was the most potent blood bond to ever be formed.

One side of Vin’s mouth lifted.  “That’s right,” he said with a smile.  “I was sent by Tarquin to deal with a situation you couldn’t resolve.”

Alec’s jaw clenched.  “I’m trying to resolve it now.”

Vin tilted his head to the side.  “Is that what you’re doing?” he asked.  “How’s that coming?”

“It would be going better if you would get the hell out of here.”

Vin smiled before stepping closer to them.  His gaze met the tracker’s wide eyes.

“You heard of a Vindicate?”

The boy’s head bobbed.

“Then, you know what I’m capable of?  What I’ll do to you if you don’t tell me what I want to know?”

“I…” the boy managed.

Vin looked at Alec.  “You think you could ease up so he can speak?  That is what you want him to do, right?”

Dialing back his anger, Alec let him go, stepping to the side.

The tracker looked at Vin, his eyes wide with fear.  “I’m telling you the truth, man.  I don’t know.”

Alec’s eyes narrowed.  “People around town say you’re one of the best trackers out there and you’re telling me you don’t know anything about the competition?”

The man cast a furtive glance at Vin before returning Alec’s gaze.  “I’ve heard there are a couple others around, but no one knows much about them.  I’m telling you these guys are like ghosts.”

Alec’s lips formed a grim line.  “Just give us a name and we’ll leave you alone.”

“It’s not like we have support groups or some shit.  I don’t know.  They stay clear and so do I.”

Before Alec knew of his intent, Vin slammed a knife into the guy’s chest.  The man looked up at Vin in horror, his face turning black like a seeping tide.  When Vin let go, the guy crumple to the ground in front of him.

“We could have gotten more information from him,” Alec argued.

Vin glanced over his shoulder at Alec. “You’re kidding yourself.  He wasn’t going to give us anything.”’

“You didn’t have to kill him.”

Vin shrugged.  “I’m a Vindicate for a reason.  Killing is what I do best.”

Leave a Reply

