How bad do you want it?

May 9, 2011 at 5:03 pm (Uncategorized)

Hi Everyone,

I know that I have been missing in action for a while, but I have a good excuse!  We just welcomed a new baby boy into our family.   So, as you can imagine, we have been quite busy!  With our new blessing in tow, I started thinking about persistence. 

Is there a limit to persistence? 

It is a question that everyone must answer for themselves.  But it really boils down to how badly you want something. 

I’ve been writing ever since I can remember.  I didn’t always think that I could ever achieve my dream of being published.  For a long time, I just accepted what I had.  I settled for things I thought I could get instead of thinking of things I wanted.   I’m not a gambling woman by any means.  I’m the girl that accepts the $20 she just won on the slots instead of spinning again. 

But some things are worth fighting for.

Getting to see my work in print was definitely one of them.  I had to ask myself “what would I regret not doing?” 

After seven years of working hard to perfect my novels, persistence paid off!  I received a publishing contract with Whiskey Creek Press Torrid.  Since then, I have published 3 other novels with them.  All of them have made it to the bestsellers list and 2 have finalled for EPIC awards. 

So, what would have happened if I had stopped at year 3 or 5?  I would have never experienced the joy of seeing my work in print or of having others enjoy my work.

The one thing that I have learned from my publishing journey is that if you want something bad enough you will go after it.  Unless you are very lucky, you will get rejections.  It is just a part of growing into a published writer.  Some of the rejections will hurt, but you have to lift yourself up and keep going.  Don’t let anyone tell you that you won’t make it.  Writing is a very subjective business.   What one agent or editor doesn’t like, another may love. 

An Olympic medal winner doesn’t just lay around all day and then go out and win the medal.  They train…most of them for many years.  Consider the rejections part of your training.  One day you will get the gold medal, but you have to work for it.

Just remember…Persistence is the key to your success.  You will eventually get there.  You just have to believe in yourself.

Have a great day,

Shauna Hart

Leave a Reply

